Monday, May 30, 2011

What Is The Difference Between Vegetarian And Vegan?

I have always for whatever reason thought that Vegan's used honey and bee products.  I personally don't have any close Vegan friends but those I have come into contact with have all used bee products and I have never given this a second thought.  Somehow in all of my training I have missed the fact that strict Vegans don't use honey products or simply somehow looked over it.

Until recently........

I now stand corrected, Vegans do not consume or use ANY animal product of any kind. 

So, I have re-educated myself on the exact definitions of Vegetarian and Vegan.

A Vegetarian is someone who does not eat any meat products what-so-ever.  This means they do not eat any animal product where an animal had to die.  Most vegetarians do eat dairy, eggs and products made by animals such as honey from sources where animals are not harmed in the collection of these products.

A Vegan simply does not eat or use any product that comes from a dead animal or that is produced by an animal.  They only eat plant based foods.  They refuse to exploit an animal for any reason. 

As I was looking up this information I realized that I really don't know any TRUE Vegetarians either because the ones that I have known all eat fish and shellfish.  Interesting.  Maybe, it has something to do with the area in which I live.  The majority of people here seem to be die hard hunters and gatherers in Washington State.

Do you know any strict Vegans or Vegetarians?  Do you know people who eat seafood and claim to be vegetarian or do you know any vegans who use products made by animals? 

Cheers, Kelly Lynch Ring







8 comments:

Diane Dyer said...

Hi there! You are accurate...true vegans eat no-thing that comes from an animal. Both my daughters, now age 39 and 41, became vegetarians when they were 14 and 16. My older daughter became vegan about 5 years ago. She is a 'real' vegan. No honey or bee products, nothing from an animal. And...she is the most fabulous vegan cook!
When my daughters became vegetarians all those years ago, I too gave up all flesh food except for fish and shellfish, and that still stands today. I do NOT call myself a vegetarian...because I am not!

Lucy said...

I think a fish eating vegetarian is called a pescetarian. That would be me :) I've had a few brief stints of veganism, but found the lifestyle is no fun, at least not when you love cheese, yogurt and fish!

Kelly Lynch Ring said...

Hello Lucy,
I did find as I was researching that a Pescetarian is a vegetarain diet that includes fish, mollusks, and crustaceans.

Some other inforamtion I found is........

A Lacto-ovo Vegetarian is a vegetarian diet that includes eggs and dairy.

A Lacto Vegetarian eat dairy but no eggs.

Cheers, Kelly

freelancerfortunes said...

Just say Hello to all, and offcourse especially to the owner on this blog. what can i say that this blog is very vital it is very helpful in my blog too. :)

do check it

Quick Money



Thank you add comment too :)

Gwama Terri said...

I don't know any vegetarians or vegans personally. We live in farming country. I wouldn't want to begin to try to persuade some of the rednecks around here to give up grilling out. Ha.

freelancerfortunes said...

Just say Hello to all, and offcourse especially to the owner on this blog. what can i say that this blog is very vital it is very helpful in my blog too. :)

do check it

Quick Money



Thank you add comment too :)

Barbara said...

I am one of those vegetarians who eats fish. One of the reasons that I (and perhaps others) do choose to eat either fish or shellfish is because a physician recommended it. Although, under a physician's advice, I did add fish to my diet, I became quite vitamin deficient and was put on a prescription strength vitamin. I feel wonderful once again and have not given up this lifestyle.

natural girl said...

I do have a vegetarian friend and she has (adult) vegan kids and one of them eats mostly raw food too. She is over at the Vegtarian Centre.
I used to be a pescatarian until my iron levels dropped really low and so I started eating meat again. I still have regular vegetarian meals so technically I am a flexitarian!!! All these names get comfusing!